Meaninglessness of Existence

I’m having a lot of trouble coping with life these days. I feel pretty down in the dumps at random but regular intervals. I feel like my life has no meaning. I feel like existence is probably meaningless in general. I fear the void that will come at the end of my run on this planet. I wish so badly that I could buy into some afterlife fantasy, but no matter how I try I can’t bring myself to do it. I just can’t convince myself.

To my fellow atheists/agnostics/non-believers out there: How do you deal with the “knowledge” that when it’s over, it’s over? How does stressing over money and career and getting by seem justifiable when it will all end in blackness? Is there another way of looking at it?

Someone tried to make me feel better by saying well…you’ll never really disappear, no matter disappears… But to me all that means is that I’ll become fertilizer for some plant after I die and my energy will be transferred back into the ground. That doesn’t mean my “soul” will go on to frolic about the universe.

Can someone please offer me some kind of comfort or perspective that might help me rise above this depressing idea of reality I have right now?

3 thoughts on “Meaninglessness of Existence

  1. We are, as humans endowed with the characteristics of our species, going to be “stressed” by the basic social realities of our time, the money and career and others that you alluded to. These are traps, but they come with being human.
    Nothing you allude to is irrational, but the basic fact of our knowledge of the “void” and “oblivion” should give us some meaning – we are all in the same predicament, which you seem to realize with much greater perception than theists and other frantic, deluded searchers for cosmic governance.
    We’ll always feel some sort of social stress, for reasons of unconscious instinct that we can control in only a limited fashion, but at least there is the fun of knowing that we can see commonality in the existential struggles of others.
    Life is quite short, no matter what any one of your friends says, there is no “soul,” and our atoms reconfigure as fertilizer for others. So being a conscious human now, in this temporary form, is great cause for celebration of existence. That’s what we know, together. That’s what can make us laugh, together, in the absurdity of having our brains give us such “insight.” You are way ahead of the game, but the game is rigged. All we can do it is play it out, on the right team.

    • I see what you’re saying 🙂 I realize that we’re all in this together… but I guess I’m just feeling really jaded and cynical lately. I feel really lonely, too, so I guess that doesn’t help. I really appreciate your response.

  2. In many ways life does have no meaning. When you’re gone, it’s going to make no difference to the world. I was brought up to want a career. To make my mark. But as I get older I realise noone actually gives a shit. It doesn’t make any difference. We are still killing the world and one day it’ll all be gone. The only way I can ever make any sense of it is by having a dream to rescue unwanted animals (no seriously). Because to be honest, helping animals is the only thing that makes me feel like I am doing anything useful in the world. My career is nothing to the world. I do it because I love it but on the grand scale of things it means nothing. Get back to nature, it’s the only way I can make sense of anything.

Leave a Reply

